Move a story to a board, backlog or another project

You can move stories to a new location from the backlog, or from a board. To move a story to another project or to a team's board, you need a 'write' access right to both the source and the target location.

Move a story from the backlog to a team board

You can move stories from the backlog to the boards of the connected teams.

Related article: Connect projects with teams

Pull a story to the board from the Planbox

The recommended way of moving a story to a board is using the Planbox. The Planbox allows organizations to implement a pull system, so that teams can pull work from the project instead of product owners pushing work to the team.

Step 1: Select the stories you want to move to a board.

Tip: you can select many backlog items by holding down the CMD/CTRL keys on your keyboard and clicking on the stories you want to select. To select a range in the backlog, hold down the SHIFT key and click on the first than the last backlog item of the range you want to select.

Step 2: Drop the selected stories to the Planbox section of the backlog.

Step 3: Teams can pull stories from the Planbox. On the team's board, click on the slider button [>] on the left side of the board columns.

Step 4: Select the stories you want to pull to the board and press the [Pull to board] button. You can also drag & drop stories from the Planbox to the board.

Move the selected stories to the board directly

If you have write access right to both the backlog and the destination board, you can move stories directly to the board.

Step 1: Select the stories you want to move to the board.

Step 2: Drag the stories over the 'On board' section of the backlog. Pictograms of the connected boards appear.

Step 3: Move and drop the stories over the pictogram of the board of your choice.

Move a story to anywhere from anywhere

You can move any story to anywhere if you have a write access right on both the target and the source workspace.

Open the [⋮] menu of a story card on the board or the backlog and select Move to > Another project/team.

The destination selector popup appears. First, select the destination project where you want to move the story. If you want to move the story to another team, but you want to retain it in its current project, select the current project of the story from the dropdown list.

Once you selected the destination project, you can pick the new location of the story. The location can be the backlog section, the Planbox section of the project backlog, or a team's board that is connected to the selected destination project.

If you want to keep the story card on the same team board, but you want to change its project, you can select the current team board from the locations list.

Once you selected the destination location of the story, press the [Move] button to perform the operation.

Move all stories in a column to the backlog

You can move all stories in a column back to the backlog. Open the column menu and select 'Move stories back to Backlog' option.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us