Group Stories in the Backlog

Story groups help you to make the backlog uncluttered and easy to manage. You can use groups to plan releases, upcoming sprints, or simply to collect related stories into a single package.

Creating a story group

To create an empty story group,

  • move the mouse pointer over the floating (+) button on the left side of the story list and select the 'Add group' option,
  • type in the name of the new group, and press [Enter]

Please note that you can create story groups in the backlog section only. Grouping in the 'Planbox' and the 'On board' section is not supported.

You can drag & drop existing stories to the group or create new stories in the group.

To collapse a story group, simply click on the group header.

To collect existing backlog items into a new group, select the stories you want to group together, and click the 'Group stories' floating button on the left side of the story list.

  • To select individual stories, hold down the [CTRL] or [CMD] keys and click on the story row's left area.
  • To select a range of stories in the backlog, select the first story (by clicking on the left area of the story row), hold down the [SHIFT] key, and pick the range's last story.

Renaming a story group

To rename a story group, click on the […] button at the right side of the group and select the 'Rename group' option from the drop-down menu. Type in the new name of the group and press [Enter].

Ungrouping and deleting story groups

There are two ways to remove a group from the backlog.

  • Ungrouping the group will disband the group and keep the stories in the backlog.
  • Deleting a group will delete the group and delete all stories in the group from the backlog.

To ungroup or delete a group, click on the […] icon on the right part of the group header and select the appropriate option from the drop-down menu.

Binding a topic to a group

The option to bind a topic to a group is a workaround solution to preserve a deprecated capability of earlier Scrum Mate versions, where a group was associated with a topic.

If you bind a group to a topic, each story within the group will be assigned to the bounded topic. This feature can be useful if you want to keep together most stories that belong to the same topic in the backlog.

To bind a group to a topic, click on the […] icon at the right side of the group, and select 'Bind to topic' option from the drop-down menu.

If you create a new story in a group that is bonded to a topic, the new story will be immediately assigned to the specific topic.

If you move a story to a topic-bounded group, the story's topic will be replaced with the topic associated with the group!

A topic indicator on the group signals that the group is bonded to a topic.

Warning! Binding a group to a topic will replace every story's topic with the selected topic!

If you don't want to associate a group with a specific topic anymore, you can unbind them. To unbind a group from a topic, click the […] icon at the right side of the group and select the 'Unbind topic' option from the drop-down menu.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us